How to change article moderation settings

Clients can choose different moderation settings for a specific article. If there is a story you believe will garner a lot negative comments, you can choose to have the comments pre-moderated or closed completely for this particular story. This article explains the different options for page level moderation.

Please note: You must be logged in as a site administrator or moderator to perform this function.

moderatearticle

To change the moderation setting at the page level, click on the drop down menu and select one of the following options:

To use the default setting, select:
  • Use Site Defaults: Uses the site settings established on the administration site under Settings and Moderation, to determine moderation status
To close page comments immediately, select either:
  • Close commenting on page: Prevents new comments from being added to the page, however all previous comments made will remain visible
  • Disable and hide comments on page: Prevents new comments on a page and hides the commenting interface. Users cannot see any pre-existing comments, and cannot create new comments
To override both pre-moderation and site wide moderation settings, select either:
  • Pre-moderate and ignore expiry on page: Places all new comments into a queue for approval and forces a page to stay open for commenting indefinitely
  • Allow commenting and ignore expiry on page: Allow all new comments to bypass pre-moderation, and forces the page to stay open for new comments indefinitely
To only override pre-moderation site settings, select either:
  • Pre-moderate until expiry on page: Places all comments into a pre-moderation queue and closes the page for new comments. This setting allows you to turn on pre-moderation for a page without overwriting your site wide moderation settings established on the administration site
  • Allow commenting until expiry on page: Allow all new comments to bypass pre-moderation, and closes the page for new comments according to your site-wide moderation settings established on the administration site